Webelos II (5th Grade)

Den 6 Leaders

  • Steve Creavin
  • Mark Gordon
  • Tim Sheehan

In their 5th grade year, Webelos Scouts continue to earn Activity Badges with the goal of earning the Arrow of Light Award and "crossing over" to Boy Scouts. 

The Arrow of Light is Cub Scouting’s highest award.  After crossing over to Boy Scouts, this is the only Cub Scouting badge he may wear on the Boy Scout uniform.   In order to earn the Arrow of Light, the Webelos must complete five more Activity Badges in addition to the three he earned for the Webelos badge.  These badges must include the Readyman Badge and the Outdoorsman Badge, and must also cover badges from the Mental Skills and Technology categories.

During the Webelos II year, there are many opportunities for the scouts to meet with Wayland's Troop 1 Boy Scouts.  Scouts might participate in a Troop 1 meeting, activity, or even a camping trip.  These are great opportunities for the Webelos to learn about Boy Scouting and meet the outstanding group of boys who make up Troop 1. 

The Webelos II year culminates with the Blue and Gold banquet at which the boys who have met the requirements for their Arrow of Light Award are honored in a flaming arrow ceremony.