Bear Cubs (3rd Grade)

Den 1 Leaders

      • Jeff Lappin
      • Derek Young
      • Mike Landsittel

      The Bear Badge can be earned by boys who have completed second grade or are nine years old.  The Bear Trail has 24 achievements, grouped in 4 major areas:  God, Country, Family, and Self.  To earn the Bear Badge, a boy must complete 12 achievements, with a required number in each area as described in the Bear Handbook and Online. 

      In addition to the tasks required for the Bear Badge, he may also complete electives to earn Gold and Silver Arrow Points.  These will be "banked" until he achieves Bear Rank, then he will be awarded all the Arrow Points earned.  For the first 10 Arrow Point electives he completes, he will be awarded a Gold Arrow Point.  Each additional 10 Arrow Point electives completed will earn him a Silver Arrow Point. There is no limit to the number of Silver Arrow Points he can earn while a Bear.  It's also important to note that any extra rank achievements earned over and above what was required for Bear Rank may be counted towards an Arrow Point elective.  Bears also have the opportunity to earn the Whittling Chip wallet card.  Earning this card shows that he has learned the fundamentals of pocketknife safety.  

      Note that some achievements are done at home while others take place in the context of meeting.  Adult family members should sign-off ("Akela's OK") after the boy has completed each one. Then, the book is shown to the Den Leader who also signs the book and records the progress.